Q health can be used for video and telephone consultations across a number of settings including 111, Community, Outpatients, and in GP surgeries. This guide provides training about how to use both the Instant and Prescheduled Consultation feature.
If you have not yet created your Q health account please see the guide here for assistance.
Once logged in you'll be on the Consult Now tab (visible in the top left hand corner under the Q health logo). From here you're able to phone the patient or send an instant link for a video consultation.
For a phone consultation enter the patient's phone number and select either This Computer to use audio from your computer or My Number to use either your own mobile or landline (your number will not be shared). Then press the blue Start Call button.
Please note the call is not recorded, if you would like to record the consultation please use the My Number option and call a number that is recorded e.g. your surgery phone.
If you have chosen to use the My Number option you and the patient will receive a phone call. Once you have both answered you will be connected.
If you have chosen to use your computer you will see the following screen, please ensure you give permission for any pop up requesting access to your microphone.
During the call you're able to mute, hang up, and also upgrade to video.
If you are having connection issues please head to our FAQs here for more information.
Switching to a Video Consultation from Telephone
If you feel it would be beneficial to have a visual of your patient, you can switch to video by pressing the video icon. This will send a link for your patient to join.
You can initiate video consultations from the Consult Now dashboard or when switching from a telephone consultation. Once you have invited the patient from the Consult Now page or from the telephone call, you will see a holding screen until the patient joins.
Once the patient has joined you can enter the video consultation using the activated blue Join Consultation button. Until you join, the patient will see a notification saying Thank you for your call. Someone will be with you shortly. - this will disappear once you are both connected.
In a Video Consultation
Once you and the patient are in the video consultation, your picture will be in the top right corner and the patient will be the full screen.
In the video consultation, the following buttons are available and will appear if you hover your mouse over the video image. From left to right they are:
Allows you to end or leave the video consultation (with an option to cancel this),
Turns your video feed on or off,
Turns your microphone on or off,
Switches from the front to the back camera (not applicable a computer),
Ability to switch the consultation to a phone call (ending the video consultation),
Opens the participant list (click here for more information),
Opens the file and photo sharing panel (click here for more information),
Blurs your background (feature only available to hosts and not guests, click here for more information).
Ending a Video Consultation
Please ensure when you are finished with the consultation you end it using the red telephone icon (see red box). This ensures that the video consultation is ended for all participants and no one is able to rejoin.
When you press the red telephone icon a pop up will appear which provides three options including End Meeting which will end the meeting for all and Leave Meeting which will keep the video running for other members (the user can rejoin if necessary). Patients are not able to End Meetings they can only leave.
When you end the video consultation, the video will end for all the guests. You may be asked to complete a post-consultation questionnaire, this will pop-up after the video consultation has been ended. The patient may also be requested to complete a post-consultation questionnaire. You will then be taken to the Meetings tab, please navigate back to the Consult Now tab for your next instant consultation.
Prescheduled Video Consultations
Should you or your admin team need to set up and invite participants to your consultation in advance you can use the Meetings tab.
On the Meetings tab, to create video consultations in advance click Create day & Time, this will allow you to enter the title of your meeting and select the date and time.
Once you have entered this information and clicked OK, the video consultation will appear in your schedule on the date of the consultation. To invite participants to the video consultation, please ensure you navigate to the correct date using the calendar then press the Invite button. Participants can be invited via SMS or email.
If you are an admin user who has set up the consultation on behalf of a clinician you can change the host of the video consultation by clicking the Change Host button.
In the pop up please search for the clinician at your clinic that you would like to assign the consultation to. Once selected, you will be required to confirm this change.
The screen will then refresh and the meeting will no longer be visible on your Meeting scheduler but it will be visible in the new hosts Meeting scheduler.
Please note if you have started the consultation you will not be able to change the host.
Starting the Video Consultation
At the time of your appointment, whether you have created the meeting or it has been assigned to you by the admin team, you can join when you are ready from the dashboard by pressing the green Join button. If a participant has joined before you a notification will appear in the top right hand corner and the Waited column will begin recording how long the participant has been in the waiting room. The participant sees a holding screen saying: Thank you for your call. Someone will be with you shortly until you join. For more information see here.
Multi-User Video Consultations
Video consultations can be used for a maximum of 6 people, for instances where translators, chaperones or additional users are needed. Participants can be added before a prescheduled video consultation using the Invite button or during the consultation by using the participants list. For a guide on this see here.
To access our help centre please press here. But here are some of our top queries:
What number will ring the patients and can we personalise the number?
The number used is an outbound only number: 02080925770. Therefore patients will not be able to call or text the number back. We chose to have a number rather than anonymous following feedback sessions from patients. Currently you're not able to personalise the number.
I can't hear the patient on the telephone call and they can't hear me?
If you are struggling to connect with your patient it could be related to an IT firewall which is blocking the connection - please share this article with your IT team - https://support.qhealth.io/en/articles/5275784-telephony-firewall-and-ports and recommend they get in touch with the Q health team on firstname.lastname@example.org
I can see the patient on the participant list but I can't see or hear them
There are a number of reasons why this might be happening, mostly it is because the patient has not given the appropriate permission for access to their microphone and camera, please see our patient FAQ article here. It could also be related to a firewall issue, especially if the consultation is occurring at a school in this case please share this article with the user https://support.qhealth.io/en/articles/4535532-firewall-and-ports and recommend they get in touch with the Q health team on email@example.com
I'm getting a video error message when I enter the video consultation and refreshing isn't helping - what can I do?
If you or your patient sees a video error message this is related to not giving the correct permission for access to microphone and camera, please head here for more information and to see all the clinician help guides head here.
How do I let me patient in from the waiting room?
This is automatically done once you have joined the consultation. Please see this guide for more information.
My patient hasn't received the video consultation invite.
Please double check the phone number or email address is correct. It can also be related to the patient not have signal to receive the message.
If your question has not been answered in this article, please see our help centre here or press on the big pink circle to speak to a member of the Q health Support Team!